Skip to main content Skip to search
Photo of Michelle Cann
Saturday Classics

Stravinsky's Firebird

This event has passed


Presenting Patrons

Curt and Cathy Vossen

Carl Maria von Weber: Overture to Oberon
Franz Liszt: Concerto No. 1 for Piano & Orchestra
Florence Price: Piano Concerto in One Movement
Igor Stravinsky: Suite from The Firebird

This is going to be an exciting night of music, featuring one of the fieriest works in piano literature–Franz Liszt’s Concerto No. 1 for Piano & Orchestra. Maestro Daniel Raiskin and the orchestra welcome award-winning American pianist Michelle Cann to do the honours.

After decades of not being played, Cann performed the New York City premiere of Florence Price’s Piano Concerto in One Movement in the summer of 2016, and the Philadelphia premiere with The Philadelphia Orchestra and music director Yannick Nézet-Séguin in February 2021. And she plays it again at this concert for us.

The fireworks continue with the vivid and striking Suite from The Firebird composed by Igor Stravinsky for the renowned Ballet Russes.

The evening begins with the cinematic overture to Carl Maria von Weber’s opera Oberon, the composer’s final work, which features supernatural elements, a complex plot, and emotional intensity.


Performing Artists

Also in Saturday Classics