“Daniel Raiskin is clearly a musician of sensibility, well versed in his craft; a further example perhaps of one last great gift of the old Soviet Union, the rigour and distinction of its conducting schools” –David Gutman, Gramophone, 2012

A son of a prominent musicologist, Daniel Raiskin grew up in St. Petersburg. He attended the celebrated conservatory in his native city and continued his studies in Amsterdam and Freiburg. First focusing on violin and viola, he got inspired to take up the baton by an encounter with the distinguished teacher Lev Savich. In addition, he also took classes with Maestri such as Mariss Jansons, Neeme Järvi, Milan Horvat, Woldemar Nelson und Jorma Panula. Raiskin, who cultivates a broad repertoire, often looks beyond the mainstream in his strikingly conceived programmes.

In addition to being Music Director of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Daniel is also Principal Guest Conductor of the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra and Artistic Partner of the Chamber Orchestra St. Michael Strings in Finland.

Daniel’s regular guest engagements include the Athens State Orchestra, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Iceland Symphony Orchestra, Japan Century Symphony Orchestra, Mariinsky Orchestra, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, National Symphony Orchestra Taiwan, NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic, Orchestre National de Belgique, Orchestre National de Lyon, Orquesta Clásica Santa Caecilia, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de México, Osaka Philharmonic Orchestra, RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra, San Antonio Symphony, Slovenska Filharmonia Bratislava, State Academic Symphony of Russia „Svetlanov“, Stuttgarter Philharmoniker,  Swedish Chamber Orchestra and in the 2018/2019 season gave his debut withthe  St. Petersburg Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra.

Among the major soloists with whom Daniel Raiskin has appeared are Emanuel Ax, Nelson Freire, Martin Fröst, Alban Gerhardt, Vadim Gluzman, Natalia Gutman, Kari Kriikku, Lang Lang, Francois Leleux, Jan Lisiecki, Alexei Lubimov, Albrecht Mayer, Daniel Müller-Schott, Olli Mustonen, Steven Osborne, Julian Rachlin, Benjamin Schmid, Julian Steckel, Anna Vinnitskaya and Alexei Volodin.